top of page

More Of My Structure Project?

Let me give you an update on my structure project and my progress so far. The design critique went smoothly on Wednesday. It was long but productive. I had finally made up my mind and decided to further explore my possibility with model no.1. Overall, this weekend was filled with lots of sketches, thinking and planning.

So this is model no 1. The final design will be a pair of spinal-cord-inspired earrings made of sterling silver. The asymmetrical and chaotic structure is very appealing and unique to the eyes. On Saturday, I started exploring different forms and possibilities to upgrade my current model. I started off with rendering the model and made little changes on partial structures, forms and overall style. It was a very successful form exploration activity. In the end, I extracted parts that I like from some possible forms and elevated them into my final design.

Here are some close-ups on my form exploring rendering:

As I had figured out my design of the piece, I started breaking down the structure of my design and planning my steps for my future reference.

This was probably my favorite part of the whole planning steps. I always enjoy making a step-by-step illustration for my reference because it is often more straight-forward and easier to follow when I am working in the studio. Funny thing, it actually looks like a furniture assembly guide from IKEA.

This is what I have for today. I started to enjoy this project. It is unique, challenging and fun. Very soon, I will be working hard in the studio and bring my design to life. Honestly, I cannot wait to start this project. Keep checking my blog to see any update on my projects:) Goodnight everybody.

Mikayla

bottom of page